Shout Box

...loading shoutbox...

Author Topic: Sterio Problems  (Read 1643 times)

Offline Livingmylife93

• Street Cred: 1
  • Ride Hard, Crash Harder, Laugh The Hardest
    • Email
Sterio Problems
« on: November 03, 2009, 07:21:34 PM »
Alright guys, I need some real help with this one. I've been pulling my hair out for like 3 months over it.

I have a 1994 Ford F-150, Standard Cab.

When i bought it, it only had an old style radio in it. No cassette player or anything, just radio.
I bought a JVC head unit for it, and a wiring harness adapter kit. Wired it all up and it worked fine, for about a month.

Then I lost sound, but still had power to the head unit and it seemed to work fine. At that time when i put the old head unit back in i still didnt get sound. Then a few days later i lost total power and neither head unit worked at all. Found out i had some blown fuses... blah blah blah.

Replaced the fuses, had sound yet again, BUT only with the old head unit.

The Current Problem:
I have the old head unit in my truck, and it works flawlessly. Good sound, no power problems or anything. When i put the JVC unit in, I still have no sound, but it gets power and everything. I know it has connection with the speakers, becuase i can hear a slight crackle from the speakers whenever i turn the head unit on at full blast. No bad fuses.

The truck has some decent aftermarket speakers.

I have replaced the Head Unit, thinking it was the problem.
I have replaced the wiring harness, thinking it was the problem. <---- which is wired correctly.

I dont understand why the old one will work, but the JVC wont put out sound.

I have also put the JVC in my friends truck, with my wiring harness and everything and it works fine.

WTF!!!  :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

Feel free to ask questions if i dont make sense.

« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 07:23:30 PM by Livingmylife93 »

Offline Peelz

• Sugar Cookie
  • SiteAdmin
  • Street Cred: 54